Water In My Bowl

Looking into the sky 

I wonder what comes

Jazz blows from trumpets

Dancing a second line

 

Like a beignet

Powdered and hot

Smells like heaven

Served with café au lait

 

Riverboats roar the walk

My home

         My home

                   My home

I flew kites from its docks…

 

Life’s tough but living is easy

Sitting on my porch listening

To the voice of Kalamu Ya Salaam

and the brother from next door

that moved to the New big city up north

singin’ about the beginning of a new day

Someday I’d know the meaning

 

Sugar and toast were my favorite

NO don’t cry,

         NO don’t cry,

                  NO don’t cry…

Like molasses these memories I savor

 

Brass bands play

From Musicians’ Village

Sugar in my bowl now water

Homes washed away

 

’til the saints

     …come marching’ in

        …til the saints come…

 

Play second line, play!

the beginning of a new day…

 

Written by

Tshombe Sekou

Copyright © 2006-2007. All Rights Reserved

 

Leave a Reply

